Friday, 23 November 2012

BBC African Footballer Award Shortlist Unveiled
Didier Drogba

The BBC has released the shortlisted names for the BBC African Footballer of the Year 2012 award. The names of Nigerian Footballers are missing from the list of shortlisted players.

Names that made the shortlist include

       Name                                                                    Country
1.      Yaya Toure                                                     Cote d’Ivoir
2.      Didier Drogba                                                 Cote d’Ivoir
3.      Demba Ba                                                       Senegal
4.      Younes Belhanda                                            Morocco
5.      Christopher Katogo                                         Zambia

The winner will be decided by African football fans, which have till Thursday December 13, 2012 to vote for the player of their choice.

Here are the Previous Winners

Year                       Player Name                                Club                                  Country
2011                      Andrew Dede Ayew                      Marseille                            Ghana
2010                      Asamoah Gyan                               Sunderland                        Ghana
2009                      Didier     Drogba                             Chelsea                            Cote d’Ivoir
2008                      Mohammed Aboutrika                    Al Ahly                            Egypt
2007                      Emmanuel Adebayo                       Arsenal                              Togo
2006                      Michael Essien                                Chelsea                             Ghana
2005                      Mohammed Barakat                        Al Ahly                             Egypt
2004                      Jay Jay Okocha                                Bolton                               Nigeria
2003                      Jay Jay Okocha                                Bolton                               Nigeria
2002                      El Hadji Diouf                                 Liverpool                           Senegal
2001                      Samuel Kuffor                                 Bayern Munich                  Ghana
2000                     Patrick Mboma                                  Parma                                Cameroun

No comments:

Post a Comment

what do you think?